Bilberries (or not as the case may be)

I was lucky enough to have the opportunity to camp out on Friay night in the Derbyshire Dales and he following morning I took myself off for a walk up the nearest ‘Edge’ and had a mind to pick bilberries for breakfast and hopefully bring some home for putting in a pie!

I have to say I wasn’t disappointed by the walk – it was beautiful, the braken smelt wonderful, the views clear and far – I even found lots of  tiny upland sorrel which tasted fantastically fresh, but sadly I was very disappointed by the bilberries – I found only 1 tiny patch which had been pretty much picked clear and I picked only 8 berries : (.

Thus is proved the point of making some sort of ‘food map’ there are plenty of other bits of  the Dales where I know or sure there are plenty of bilberry bushes and so as this is the right time, maybe I should head out that way again!

Leave a Reply

