Hedgerow Jelly

Whilst skimming along a canal in Oxfordshire with my brother, his wife and their new (boat-shaped) home, the hedgerows all along are full of edible fruits.  Ann Marie shared with me her recipe for mixed hedgerow jam.

Take a selection of some (or all) of the following – Rosehips, Haws (hawthorn fruit), Blackberries, Crab Apples (roughly chopped), Sloes, Damsons, Rowan, Elderberries.  Place the fruit in a jamming pan (or huge saucepan) and cover three quarters with water. Heat until simmering, then cook slowly until mushy, stirring occasionally.  Drip thorugh a jelly cloth overnight.  Measure the liquid into a clean pan and add 1lb sugar to each 1 pint of juice.  Boil until setting point is reached, then pour into sterilised jars.

If made with just red fruit (rowan, rosehips, haws) and crab apples this makes a beautiful clear dark pinkish jelly.  Adding darker fruits will make a darker jelly.  Ann Marie used the sloes lately strained from her Sloe Gin – I think that will make delicious jelly!

 

 

One thought on “Hedgerow Jelly

  1. I’ve been making hedgerow jelly for a couple of years, and can attest that any or all of the above fruits will work. I’ve also used whitebeam.

    I can’t leave anything simple, so I usually chuck in a load of spices – cinnamon sticks, cloves, whatever’s in the cupboard. I’ll also add lemons if I have any. Just plain berries is fine, but I can’t resist adding extras.

Leave a Reply

