Wild Food Map

Every wild food forager developes a ‘map’ of their local area of where the best foraging of certain plants is to be had.  I shared my secret sorrel bank with the wild food walk that I led a couple of weeks ago.  I have a ‘pet’ sloe/damson sort of thing (perhaps they are even bullaces) and I noticed that the blossom was in full bloom over the fantastic May Bank Holiday weather, so hopefully there will be a great crop in the autumn.  Today I came across another ‘dot’ to add to my map.

I live very near to the Derbyshire Peak District and each summer I kinda don’t get around to going proper bilberry picking – either I go too late, or the place where I go is all heather and not bilberries, or its been a bad year and there is only a handful or whatever. Anyway, today I discovered a whole south west facing slope covered in bilberries in flower being polinated by some very tenacious and determined bumble bees – it was blowing a hooley and the rain was stinging my face on the top of the Edge above  but still they were out and about doing the biz!

So, in a month or so I will be out there with a couple of lunch boxes to spend a happy hour or so picking bilberries to my hearts content.  Roll on Summer!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

